Travel Diary: An American in China, 2

June 25, 2010 § 1 Comment

Guess who woke me bright and way-too-early?

Sweet babykins, that’s who! She’s just about the only person in the world I would willingly wake up that early for. You’d think she’d have forgotten me after a whole year’s separation (which very nearly killed me), but no! The instant she saw me, she said “Auntie, I’ve missed you sooooo much!” and gave me a hug. All this from a 3 year old. Be still, my heart. Oh, and how sweet is that haircut? 😉

Some good old fashioned (and authentic!) Chinese breakfast: congee with preserved duck eggs. Simple, but total comfort food. It’s such a great balance, as well: the lumpy, pudding-like, bland congee offset by the extreme saltiness and grittiness of the duck egg. Mmm.

Then, off I went to visit my grandparental units in the hospital. They have lived long-term in a hospital wing reserved especially for the elderly that have served the country well for as long as I can remember. It’s a nice residence- spacey, clean, and convenient. I brought the little one with me to keep me entertained and she brought the new sparkly Dorothy shoes I brought her.

Look, Mickey D’s! Nothing could make me feel more American than greasy goodness with a Coke to wash it all down.

Behold my sexy rain shoes 😉 They were very clompy. It was worth wearing them, however, since we got a few cool and breezy days in exchange! Ugly shoesies over sweatiness and a red face? I think yes. The destination for these? Dinner at the CDC (Central for Disease Control and Prevention) with some of the fam. Loads of spicy crawfish. Yum, yum.

For some extra fuel, I inhaled a peach mochi that we got at a duty-free shop in the Tokyo airport. Deeeelish.

Okay, now get ready for this:

Oh. my. goodness. gracious!!!!!!!!!! I have been waiting for a bite of this for a whole YEAR!! This is an egg tartlet. It is weirdly like a key lime pie, except less tart and more creamy. It is one of the more popular desserts here in China, served hot and slightly burnt and carmelized. I, however, insist on eating only the egg tartlets from Christine’s Bakery. These are served cold, straight from the refrigerator. The filling is to die for and the crust? The crust is so flaky and buttery. Heart palpitations. Oh my.

So good, I insist you look at it twice. I wonder how much it’d cost to ship it back to the US in bulk? 😀

Good niiiiiiiiight from my side of the world!

C

§ One Response to Travel Diary: An American in China, 2

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Travel Diary: An American in China, 2 at Like A Butterfly.

meta

