Travel Diary: An American in China, 4

June 26, 2010 § Leave a comment

Hay, hey, haiiiii…

Imagine me saying that in Finnish! Wonderful.

Last we talked, I showed you what I was up to for the first few days in Nanjing. On the fourth day, my mom, aunt, and I took a train to Shanghai to pick up my sister. Trains are all the hype here in Chinaland. They are extremely convenient and a lot cheaper than planes. Planes here also have the tendency to be delayed for hours. Me and my big sis, though, happen not to like trains very much. They are smelly and uncomfortable. The good news is that the one we took to/from Shanghai only took a little more than 2 hours.

Here’s the train station in Nanjing:

Imagine it with about a million other people. It’s crowded. We usually pitch in some extra dinero and buy first class seats. They aren’t anything to write home about, but the cabin is a lot cleaner and the waiting room doesn’t feel as claustrophobic.

I heart Vera πŸ™‚

I snacked on these:

Who doesn’t love Haribo gummy bears?

This is my travel footwear. In case you were wondering… Oh, and that’s how the floor looks like πŸ˜›

Observe my excitement at being reunited with coffee and sleeping in a soft bed again. In fact, one night, I mumbled in my sleep “sleeping in silken tofu is splendid.” Crazy much?

Noodles with beef- not the yummiest, but I was ravenous!

Finally reunited with my eight-year-older twin πŸ™‚

Soup dumplings are perhaps Shanghai’s most renowned delicacies. They are little pockets of ground pork and other yummy fillings (there was crab in this one) with a load of soup within them. The trick is to suck out all the soup before starting to eat the actual dumpling. We ate these at Nanxiang Soup Dumplings inΒ Chenghuanmiao, one of Shanghai’s most famous attractions.

And apparently, this is the new trendy way to sample soup dumplings. Drink the soup out of a straw and throw the rest away.

What a beautiful name for a bubble milk tea cafe. Didn’t change the fact that it was deeeeelicious!

OBAMA MART!

We celebrated the Chinese holiday Duanwu, which commemorates a wronged poet. The story goes that ‘zongzi’, which are the pretty little objects you see above- sticky rice with all different types of fillings wrapped in a banana leaf, is thrown into the river where the poet drowned to force the fish not to eat his body. Dragon boats are also used to celebrate this holiday. Every year, on Duanwu, Chinese people eat lots and lots of zongzi, which is so very scrumptious.

Exhausted after a long touristy day. I like my braids and I like my beaded top. Just sayin’.

Oh, and this is the look I have on my face 24/7 here. Everything excites me and makes me go either ‘ooooh’ or ‘whaaaat?’

Up next- Shanghai Expo πŸ™‚

C

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Travel Diary: An American in China, 4 at Like A Butterfly.

meta

