Winding Down

July 3, 2010 § Leave a comment

Um, hi.

I am certainly aware that I have been absent for the past couple of days, but I have a good excuse!

I am trying to break the record for fastest belly expansion! …Just kidding 🙂 But, really, my time is always short in Shenzhen so I’ve been prioritizing my time and using it to terrorize my grandparents and other miembros de mi familia. I’ve also been having quite some food adventures, which I will tell you about around July 6.

Yes, the ‘An American in China’ segments will continue on July 6th when I return to Nanjing and have access to all my photo files. Meanwhile, I shall entertain you with some image-free posts? Will you stay, please?

My time in China is winding down. Quickly. I have six days left. And, I’m going to be quite frank- it’s hard. I miss my friends, I miss my home, I miss my supersoft mattress and Mexican food. But, at the same time, my family is here in China. As much as I love my friends (and I do love them times ten million), it feels so different and family-ish when I have girls’ days out with my cousins or when we have massive family dinners. Family is family even if I see them once a year and even if they live oceans away from me.

I have such mixed feelings about going back home. I miss it so, so, so much. The lifestyle here– the lightning-like pace of life, the roller coaster methods of driving, all the crowds, the live-or-let-live kind of thinking– is just not for me. Yet, how can I leave behind my beloved grandparents? My doting cousins? My hilarious aunts and uncles? That adorable, sweet-faced kid?

The truth is, I don’t know. What I do know right this moment is that I’m going to enjoy every second of these last six days here and I’m going to eat so much and become soooo puffy and I’m going to go watch some FIFA World Cup with the fam now (Germany and Spain for winners tonight, yeah?).

Adios for now,

C

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Winding Down at Like A Butterfly.

meta

