Travel Diary: An American in China, 12

July 11, 2010 § 1 Comment

Shenzhen, continued!

Less on the talk, more on the posting…

K, so you know how I said hotpot is probably my favorite type of dining? I semi-lied. Hotpot’s my favorite dinner choice, but for brunch, I’m a total sucker for dimsum.

Dimsum’s popular down in Hong Kong and Shenzhen– basically the whole Guangdong province. Drink tea, eat congee, gobble up lots of pastries and goodies, my type o’ meal.

I’m not a big fan of tea. I’m more of a coffee kinda person, but when eating dimsum, only tea works. We chose jasmine tea, which is a lot milder than other teas, which I’m super grateful for. I can only take so much bitterness 🙂 These are some of our old favorites:

Congee is a must when it comes to dimsum. My personal go-to flavor is preserved duck egg with pork. So yummy 🙂

This is a gelatin-like flat noodle with shrimp and bamboo inside and drizzled with soy sauce. We’ve been ordering this item for years and years and years. I can’t even remember a time when we didn’t have this.

I think this was probably my favorite of the day, if I had to choose one. Taro pastry! It was mildly sweet and crispy. Always a winner with me!

BBQ pork buns! These beauties are served in many places, but few make it perfectly. For me, the bun has to be very fluffy and thick. The filling should be slightly sweet, but smoky as well. Most places make the mistake of making it too sweet and weird. This place made it the Caroline-approved way 🙂

Shrimp and bamboo glass dumplings… Also another longtime favorite. This one was pretty average. Dimsum items are tough to be really good to me because I’ve had everything so much.

Salty, sticky, fried dumplings. A bit too sticky in my mind, but it’s never been my favorite dimsum treat anyways…

Chicken feet :O I didn’t touch any, and I never have. It’s wayyyyy too bony for me. My sister, on the other hand, declares chicken feet her favorite dimsum item ever. Mine, on the contrary…

Sticky rice with pork and sausage filling, wrapped in bamboo leaves. I’m very judgmental when it comes to these little ones since they are my all time favorites. On a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the best sticky rice packets ever, this one was probably a 5 or a 6. Still good, but not perfect!

The only downside to dimsum is that you actually have to rise early. This time, we came a little late since certain members of our crew stayed up till 4 AM watching soccer, but you’re usually supposed to go around 9-10 AM. Ish.

On Fourth of July, we toasted the Home of the Brave with this glass of caramel macchiato. I had it down in an instant.

For dinner, we went to a Peking duck restaurant, where the specialties are Peking duck (duh.) and this:

Translated directly, it’s “mouth-numbingly spicy fish.” There’s frickin layers of hot, hot peppers in that thing. I skip this bowl and go on to the ‘pickled vegetable fish’ bowl, which is milder by like ten thousand degrees.

Technically, the toast is for the people who dare to eat the spicy fish. You place the fish on the bread so that it can soak up a lot of the spiciness and make it more bearable. Not wanting to be left out, I decided to try it out with my own pickled vegetable fish.

The duck pancakes were so delicious. They may have been even better than the ‘authentic’ ones in Beijing? Both were lovely, anyhow…

Fried onion pancake… My daddy’s long-time favorite. I was so gosh-dang full that day though, so I only had one slice…

Here’s the duck butt once again! They made it even better here, if that’s even possible. The slices lay on a bed of sugar. The meltiness is just… oh, goodness…

A tower of yummy duck meat! I always get made fun of because I tend to get tired of wrapping pancakes by my fourth one and just start eating the duck meat and pancakes separately. Oh wells 😛

By choice, we had our duck bones made into soup instead of being deep-fried. The soup was extremely delicious, a lot more flavorful than the one served in Beijing. And since I’m so overly healthy, there was even bokchoy in it!

When I went to ‘shop’ in my aunt’s closet, I played with this beauty, Tony. She’s such a shy little girl and would run away every time I looked at her, but by the end of the day, she was napping in my lap.

This is how I kept myself entertained for hours.

And, here’s my fav person… like ever.

I am gonna go watch some soccer (Spain! Spain!), but I shall return!

C

§ One Response to Travel Diary: An American in China, 12

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Travel Diary: An American in China, 12 at Like A Butterfly.

meta

