Mailbox Love

August 14, 2010 § Leave a comment

First things first.

Congratulations to Lauren Froderman, new winner of So You Think You Can Dance! It turns out that I met her at NSLC last summer! How cool is that? We were in different sub-programs, but our dances and talent shows were always together so I’ve even danced with her! Even then, we were completely wowed by all her flips and tumbles. She was a really sweet girl, so I’m really glad she won 🙂 Yay for former NSLC-ers!

Anyways, I was entirely out of my element this morning because I had to get up at 7 AM. I don’t even know how I got up at 5 every morning at camp and for school. I’ll have to be doing that again starting next week! I got to school and headed straight for these nifty t-shirts for PALS. I really like them. It’s simple but eye-catching and definitely very Charger friendly 🙂

Here’s the back:

Cute! I had this piece of fabric on me all day. I was so mindlessly exhausted by 4 in the afternoon. After printing out receipts, giving tours to freshmen, and handing out schedules, I just wanted to zonk out on the tables. But, my dad picked me up with a little surprise in the backseat that made it all better!

It was a package from Cindy! I was so excited and antsy that I opened it up right there. Out came the cutest, sweetest letter with hand-drawn sentiments, three photographs of the Square, and three CDs! You bet your hiney that I went right home and slipped in the first one and just sat there and listened. It was so incredible, I can’t even begin to tell you. She chose all the songs that we had inside jokes about and then some. I felt like each song was a message in itself, a nod to our rare bond. I miss these girls so much!

Can I confess right here and right now that I may have teared up a little? Just a little bit when some especially meaningful songs came up, but then the next one would just sent me into a hysterical laughing fit. I let each song surprise me and listened to each one from beginning to end.

God, these ladies are incredible.

After all that jazz, I wanted to cool off with a bit of watermelon:

Alright y’all, let’s talk some watermelon. I am very picky when it comes to the quintessential fruit of summer. I like it best bowl-style, but I also prefer it ice-cold, extra crunchy, seedless (with very little of those white seeds too), a bit vein-y, not at all mealy, and RED RED RED! That’s why I sort of halt once I get to the outer rings where it turns lighter pink. I’ve even requested 1″ x 1″ squares of watermelon from my daddy, but I’m just kidding (or am I?). I don’t think I’ve ever had an ideal watermelon, but it’s going to be a life quest I guess!

C

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mailbox Love at Like A Butterfly.

meta

