Temporary Home

August 20, 2010 § Leave a comment

Good evening! Let’s talk dorm room shopping!

I felt like a real senior today when I took my cap and gown and formal yearbook photos. So surreal! I will be graduating in less than a year (June 2nd :)) and then I’ll be heading off to college right after that. Most of my friends in the class above me are moving into their dorm rooms sometime this week and I’ve been obsessing over all of their Facebook pictures. All of the twin beds and colorful sheets, furniture placed in every which way to make the most of a cramped room. Brightly decorated desks and teeny closets, everything you own shoved into flimsy baskets under your bed. I. Am. So. Excited for my turn!

A bit antsy from such teasing, I decided to window shop online a bit for bits and pieces of my own dream dorm room:

Granted, my bed will be extra mini, but I’ll spruce it up with super soft sheets and cuddly down comforters with a smattering of pillows. All in pink, of course! I’m also tempted to somehow bring my egg-box foam mattress cover, which makes any bed soft as a feather.

I also want to be able to walk freely around my own room totally barefoot without worrying about grime and dirty floors. Perfect reason to invest in an understated but pretty rug.

Stackable boxes would be very practical to store things that don’t belong elsewhere. I can imagine a load of them under my bed and/or desk.

Slightly prettier and sturdier container devices are perfect for storing items from the desk– books, magazines, notebooks/binders, etc.

Real candles are undoubtedly fire hazards. To mellow myself out on some days, however, I can dim the lights and turn on a few of these babies!

How gorgeous is this print? Hopefully, there will be space available on my walls. I would love waking up to such a peaceful and pretty image!

Picture frames are also highly necessary for this girl, as I treasure memories above all else. These silver frames will complement any decor in any room. I shall see the smiling faces of my friends and family all day everyday πŸ™‚

I will surely need something comfy to curl up on while reading books and drinking hot chocolate. Comfy dish chairs are the perfect places to wrap myself in a blanket and call it a day.

For someone as unfailingly hungry and thirsty as I am, a refrigerator is a must-have. I’m diggin’ that hot pink one. These are extra cool… The front is a white board! A perfect place to make lists πŸ™‚

I can barely concentrate and focus on something without music. These speakers are sleek and small so my desk won’t be cluttered. The alarm clock is an extra bonus for someone who is naturally incapable of rising early.

This is a pretty and practical lamp all in one. I love the damask pattern!

Last, but definitely not least, is a full length mirror! Outfit and makeup checks will be abundant. Also, it’ll just be handy whenever I just want to look at my face πŸ˜›

It’ll be interesting to check back in a year and see how my dorm room will really turn out.

See ya!

C

**I “window-shopped” at Target and Ikea.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Temporary Home at Like A Butterfly.

meta

