Swing of Things

August 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

Hey y’all! Happy Tuesday!

The thing about second days is that they are usually the first normal days. At school, we are finally regaining our routine and are getting in the swing of things– work is being assigned, names are being memorized, expectations discussed.

The one thing I just can’t get used to still? Getting up so early! But, with the help of early morning exercising and some of this:

A white chocolate mocha! This is my favorite hot drink from Starbucks, with an exception of the seasonal Pumpkin Spice lattes (so excited for those!). I also got some sugar into my system:

A blueberry scone 🙂 I loooove scones from Starbucks. They are the perfect balance between sweet and not too sweet. I don’t like sugar headaches from breakfast foods!

School went by like a blur. There were moments where I just sat there and zoned out for a bit, but for the most part, I like all my classes! Strangely, I’m getting pretty interested in economics. I’m not a math type of girl, so I don’t know where that’s coming from. Knock on wood!

Afterwards, my mom picked me up and took me to Sonic as a back to school treat. To change things up a bit, I ordered a cherry lime chiller. I am not very impressed. It was wayyyyyy too sweet and sugary in my opinion. I think I’ll stick with my cranberry limeades from now on!

For dinner, I picked up a cheeseburger from Sonic, not expecting too much. I’ve never had a burger here, believe it or not, because I’ve been off beef for awhile and just got back onto it recently. Mahhhhhhh, I was enticed by the first bite. It was so gosh darn GOOD! I usually don’t like pickles in my burgers, but this was just the cherry on top. Goodness.

Now, let’s wean ourselves off of food for just a little bit and get to something literary! I just finished East of Eden by John Steinbeck. Can I just say… This is one of the BEST books I have ever read in my life, and that is sayin’ something coming from a bookworm like me. From the very first paragraph, I was already way in. This book is really a mirror of the story of Cain and Abel, but with a delightful twist. The entire plot was just so complex, all the characters so developed. Steinbeck sure knows how to use his language. It was totally compelling all the way through. Six hundred pages total, but worth every single one. It is a must read!!!!

As Adam says in the novel: Timshel! (Thou shalt!)

C

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Swing of Things at Like A Butterfly.

meta

