Mooyah!

December 21, 2010 § Leave a comment

Breaks are such wonderful gifts to the world. Once students are on a break, everyone just seems friendlier, more generous, more relaxed. We are less swamped with work, less stressed, less I’m-going-to-throw-a-textbook-at-you. I love breaks. Granted, I haven’t been doing much. A movie here, some Christmas shopping there (yes, I am one of those last-minute shoppers), and a ton of long naps. Perfect.

Now, I remember when I was a kid, in North Carolina, holiday breaks were the best excuses to sneak in television time. Lizzie McGuire, Even Stevens, and of course, Kim Possible and her catchy theme song. But the part I remember best about Kim Possible is her blond sidekick and his little sidekick- The Naked Mole Rat! Their catchphrase, “Booyah!” therefore has been embedded deeply in my mind.

And that is precisely why images of sprightly red-heads and squirming rats danced before me when I heard of the burger chain Mooyah Burgers and Fries. My friends love the place. They say that Mooyah serves the best burgers around here. Well, that certainly piqued my interest since I’ve been on the hunt for some good burgers since I started eating beef again.

I finally got the chance to stop by Mooyah’s the other day. Boy, it was packed with people, which surely attests to the fact that the place is delicious! I ordered a Mooyah Burger on White Bread with Cheddar Cheese, Lettuce, Tomatoes, Avocado, and Ketchup. The buns were buttery and almost croissant-like in texture and taste. The meat itself was so juicy and flavorful, slightly charred and wonderfully smoky. Everything else packed a punch– especially the avocado, which balanced everything so smoothly.

I also ordered a Thick & Frosty Chocolate Milkshake, which was just a tad too thick and a tad too sweet. No worries though, I still managed to slurp up every last drop. I’m gluttonous.

And then, the day after, I had Olive Garden for dinner. The food itself wasn’t too much to write home about– we’ve all made our way down the OG menu once or twice, so there’s nothing that no one already knows about that needs to be tooted! But this Triple Chocolate Strata is so delectable. It’s so moist and unctous and very, very chocolately. So divine. And apparently, it’s relatively new, so I’m not breaking the rules by mentioning it so much!

Finally, the last (new) food item I’ve tried so far this month is the Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate from Starbucks that came highly recommended by my friend. It’s definitely an acquired taste. What’s weird is I LOVED the drink for about ten minutes, but then after all the whipped cream was gone, it started making me nauseous. I mean, it basically tasted like a salty hot cocoa but in a really good way. Hmm. Something to think about.

Alright dearies, I’m off to watch The Holiday!

C

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mooyah! at Like A Butterfly.

meta

