Golden Globes 2011: Best Dressed

January 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

I think this may have been the best Monday of the year so far. Thanks, MLK Jr.

How ’bout some obligatory Golden Globe red carpet drooling? The show itself was sadly pretty boring. Ricky Gervais was a hoot but he barely made an appearance. And Robert Downey Jr.– yeah, I like him. I think the best moment was definitely when Chris Colfer won because you could obviously see how close the Glee cast is. It’s nice to know that you support a show with a wonderful, tight-knit cast!

{ Amy Adams in Marchesa, Olivia Wilde in Marchesa, Megan Fox in Armani Prive }

So stunning. That color on Amy Adams in divine, as is the laser-cut detail. Olivia Wilde’s dress was made for a princess– I wish she did something more with her hair. I loved everything about Megan Fox’s outfit, but girlfriend needs some meat on her bones! Some trends that I detected on the red carpet: lots of neutrals and pale pinks, lootttttsssss of glitter and shine, jewel tones, and backless dresses!

{ Mandy Moore in Monique Lhullier, Dianna Agron in J. Mendel, Scarlet Johanssen in Elie Saab }

I haven’t seen Mandy Moore around in awhile (I say that we’re like BFFs…) but that gown is to die for! All the tulle and that lovely, lovely blue. Her hair and makeup were perfect, as well! Yay for stars from my childhood 🙂 Dianna Agron always chooses to look very lady-like and demure at award shows and she usually goes a bit ‘over,’ but this look is right on target. And Scarlett– I love Elie Saab and any dress that he creates. It looks totally fab on her except that I think it’s a teeeeeensy bit boring for such a red carpet veteran… Just a teensy bit.

{ Sandra Bullock in Jenny Packham, Catherine Zeta Jones in Monique Lhullier, Natalie Portman in Vicktor & Rolf }

Oh, Sandra Bullock can do no wrong in my book. Except… If only she had gathered her hair in a sweepy, wispy, wavy updo. It would’ve been goddess-ly. CZJ won Best Dressed in my book. She looked positively regal and that dress. That dress. That dress. CZJ is queen. Ohhhhhhhhh, Natalie Portman. I wish that ridiculous flower applique didn’t come with that dress and you didn’t wear that lipstick. You look like a Valentine’s Day card! But I put her on my Best Dressed list anyways because she is my girl crush and because she is the cutest thing ever with her baby bump. Don’t mess it up at the Oscars or I shall be mad.

{ Carrie Underwood in Badgley Mischka, Eva Longoria in Zac Posen, Michelle Pfeiffer in Roland Mouret }

Typical in her Southern Belle uniform, Carrie Underwood nevertheless looks very pretty and glam. Eva Longoria was smashing in that form-fitting anything-but-basic-black dress. I think it’s the diamond brooches that made the look. And finally, Michelle Pfeiffer looked effortlessly gorgeous– that color! The hair! She didn’t walk the red carpet, but was enchanting anyways.

That’s all, folks. I can’t wait for the big one– the Oscars!!! I’m especially excited because my boyfriend James Franco and my best friend Anne Hathaway are hosting. You didn’t know that, didja?

C

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Golden Globes 2011: Best Dressed at Like A Butterfly.

meta

