Academy Awards 2011: Best Dressed

February 28, 2011 § Leave a comment

Anyone watch the Oscars last night? I used to live and breathe award shows, especially the red carpet part. It smelled very nice, thanks for asking. I’ve long given up such a boring hobby, but because two of my favorite actors ever- James Franco and Anne Hathaway were hosting and because some of my favorites were up for awards, I tuned in!

Verdict: So-so. Francaway can do no wrong in my mind, but they could’ve done better. The best part of the entire night was hands down the Harry Potter-Toy Story-Social Network-Twilight Autotune short. Hilarious! These ladies stole my heart on the red carpet:

{Amy Adams in L’Wren Scott}

She is so classy. I love the silhouette of this gown, the color, the sparkles, everything! And I’m also really jealous of how she got back to uber-skinnyness after having a baby just weeks ago. I do love how she paired the blue with the emeralds and her beautiful smile, of course!

{Michelle Williams in Haute Couture Chanel}

When I think of classic, ethereal, soft beauty, I always think of Michelle Williams. Her choices are always traditional, but edgy and quirky at the same time. I love what a simple statement this gown puts out there for her– she is one of the most underrated stars out there.

{Reese Witherspoon in Giorgio Armani Prive}

Reese Witherspoon is the quintessential All-American movie star. Everyone loves her. She is sweet, funny, upbeat. Her fashion choices never disappoint. This is one of her safer picks, but the silhouette and simplicity is gorgeous. Every time I look at her in this dress, I think of the scene in Confessions of a Shopaholic where Becky Bloomwood is wearing a very similar dress and gets mistaken for a waitress. I however doubt that Reese had any problems with such a misunderstanding.

{Natalie Portman in Rodarte}

Ah, there’s my girl crush. That color is absolutely ravishing on her. She is positively glowing! Everything about this dress on her is perfection and I am beyond excited that she won Best Actress.

{Mila Kunis in Elie Saab}

Speechless. She is so stunning- the dress is flawless, her makeup is amazing. Mila won best dressed in my book!

It has been a busy couple of weeks for me, but I will be back with meaningless chatter in no time 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Academy Awards 2011: Best Dressed at Like A Butterfly.

meta

